

219 North Main Street, Suite 402 Barre, VT 05641 (p) 802-479-1030 | (f) 802-479-1835

Vermont Agency of Education Awards 30 Presidential Scholar Nominees

EMBARGOED UNTIL 5 p.m. January 28, 2019

Contact: Ted Fisher, ted.fisher@vermont.gov, 802-479-1170

BARRE, Vt. – The Vermont Agency of Education today recognized the state's 2019 Presidential Scholar nominees in a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse.

The Vermont Presidential Scholars Program recognizes graduating high school seniors who show outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to their communities. Twenty scholars are nominated in the general category, and five scholars are nominated in the Career Technical Education (CTE) category. For the first time this year, Vermont will award five scholars in the Arts.

Vermont scholars for the general and CTE categories will be invited to apply to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, which will announce its winners in May 2019. Additional Vermont students may be chosen to apply by the U.S. Department of Education based on ACT and SAT scores. Each year, up to 161 students are named as national Presidential Scholars – one of the highest honors for high school students. During this pilot year, the Vermont student artists will not automatically be sent on the national pool through YoungArts. Arts scholars will have the opportunity to participate in the national Presidential Scholars program beginning in 2020.

"Vermont's presidential nominees exemplify the strengths of Vermont's education system, one of the best in the nation," said Secretary of Education Dan French. "Our students have excelled in science, math, history and the arts, and a diverse range of CTE programs. I am very proud of their excellence and hard work and I wish them the best as they represent our state at the national level for this award."

Career Technical Education Presidential Scholars

Jimmy Jiang	Computer Animation & Web	Center for Technology, Essex
	Design	
Meghan Forrett	Business Management and	Windham Regional Career Center
	Leadership	
ThaZin Aye	Professional Foods II	Center for Technology, Essex
Sanela Bikic	Medical Professions	Central Vermont Career Center
Zachary Brown	Business Administration &	Canaan Memorial High School (CTE
	Technology	program)

General Presidential Scholars

adiidiai i iddiadiitiai ddiidiaid	
Caitlin Allan	BFA Fairfax
Riley Allen	Essex High School
Cameron Angwin	South Burlington High School
Morgan Biele	Woodstock UHS
Grace Castle	North Country UHS
Mason Castle	St. Johnsbury Academy
James Clawson	Richford Junior Senior High School
Nicole Eaton	Champlain Valley Union High School
Aiden Francomb	Burr and Burton Academy
Rachel Hemmer	Burr and Burton Academy
Hanna Hurtubise	Richford Junior Senior High School
Phillip Papp	Rutland High School
Grace Phelps	St. Johnsbury Academy
Shane Seals	Bellows Free Academy Fairfax
Justin Schaaf	Champlain Valley Union High School
Fairen Stark	Leland and Gray Union High School
Katherine Wallace	Middlebury Union High School
Cameron Wescott	Poultney High School
Oliver Wilson	Woodstock Union High School
Dylan Lee	Fair Haven Union High School

Arts Presidential Scholars

Henry Wu	Essex High School
Fairen Stark	Leland and Gray Union High School
Emily Friedrichsen	Champlain Valley Union High School
Eden Ginsburg	Patricia Hannaford Career Center
Anna Hepler	Woodstock Union High School

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Learn more about the <u>Presidential Scholars Program on the U.S. Department of Education</u>.

Connect with the Vermont Agency of Education on <u>Twitter</u>, <u>Facebook</u>, and <u>YouTube</u>.

###

